frdeenprint

SPA History / 2014 / Mouvement III /

The City Performed

August 26 to November 2 2014

Exhibition in Kunsthaus CentrePasquArt

Opening ceremony on August 26 2014 6 p.m.

The performances of Le Mouvement explore public space and its limits in Biel in 2014. The artistic interventions are announced as such and are possibly treated differently under the protective mantle of the Swiss Sculpure Exhibition. Performing the City relates exclusively to Biel, an extremely limited segment of what public space signifies internationally. The urban public realm is always determined by local conditions and is strongly coloured by the political system, the legislation in force, how this legislation is implemented, economic circumstances, moral sensibilities, the influence of grassroots movements, cultural policy etc.
The exhibition The City Performed at the Kunsthaus CentrePasquArt extends the concept of public space internationally - in both historical-geographical and political terms. It explicitly encompasses artists who have implemented street performances under various circumstances - in some cases at the risk of being arrested and imprisioned.  The museum-bases explorationn at Kunsthaus CentrePasquArt offers a more in-depth examination of the context of performance.  In a nutshell, it is certainly fair to say that public space as a term and concept are different for each of the works exhibited. Considering differences and distictions is the only way to tackle the complexity of the system of discourse, society, city, and public space.
It is however not always a desire to have an impact in a political context that drives artists out into the street - on the contrary. The urge to abaondon the protective walls of the art instititution has been omnipresent since the sixties. Parallel to Land Art, which chose the world of nature as exhibition venue, more and more artists turned to the street and used it as a platform, an alternative to art spaces, neutral terrain, not appropriated by official art discourse.
The city is viewed as neutral terrain, which is not integrated into an art discourse and is free from preferences of state art policy. Artists who renounce the context of the exhibiton space signal their independence, However, the documentary records of these performances often end up back in the art sphere once again.

frdeenprint

ESS Historique / 2014 / Mouvement III /

The City Performed

Du 26 au 2 novembre 2014

Exposition au CentrePasquArt
Fête d'inauguration le 26 août 2014 à 18 heures


Les performances qui composent Le Mouvement sondent l’espace public et ses frontières à Bienne en 2014. Les interventions artistiques sont annoncées comme telles et feront peut-être, sous la protection de l’Exposition Suisse de Sculpture, l’objet d’un traitement différent. Performing the City porte exclusivement sur Bienne, un élément extrêmement limité de la représentation internationale de l’espace public. Le public urbain est toujours local et profondément imprégné du système politique, des lois en vigueur, de l’application de celles-ci, des conditions économiques, de la morale, de l’influence des mouvements citoyens, de la politique culturelle, etc.

L’exposition The City Performed au Centre d’Art CentrePasquArt confère à la notion de l’espace public une dimension internationale – aussi bien en termes historiques et géographiques que politiques. Des artistes y sont volontairement intégrés qui, dans des conditions diverses, ont réalisé des performances de rue – parfois au risque d’être arrêtés et emprisonnés. Le Centre d’Art CentrePasquArt propose une analyse de musée plus détaillée du contexte de la performance. En résumant, on peut souligner que chaque œuvre exposée appréhende et conçoit l'espace public différemment. La complexité du système du discours, de la société, de la ville et de l’espace public ne peut être abordée que par le biais de différences.
Ce qui pousse les artistes à intervenir dans la rue n’est cependant pas toujours le désir d’agir dans un contexte politique — bien au contraire. Le besoin de quitter les murs protecteurs de l’institution artistique est omniprésent depuis les années soixante. Parallèlement au land art, qui a fait de la nature un lieu d’exposition, de plus en plus d’artistes se tournent vers la rue et l’utilisent comme scène, comme alternative au centre d’art, comme terrain neutre qui n’est récupéré par aucun discours artistique officiel.
La ville est perçue comme un terrain neutre qui n’est intégré à aucun discours artistique ou, en tous cas, n’est pas soumis aux préférences de la politique artistique de l'Etat. Les artistes qui renoncent au contexte de la salle d’exposition manifestent leur indépendance. Cependant, les documents concernant ces performances atterrissent souvent de nouveau dans une salle d’exposition.