frdeenprint

SPA History / 2014 /

LE MOUVEMENT

12th Swiss Sculpture Exhibition Biel-Bienne      


The 12th edition of the Swiss Sculpture Exhibition in 2014 has continued the innovative spirit of the format by offering the most radical edition yet. True to its provocative legacy of 60 years, LE MOUVEMENT has challenge the very definition of public sculpture by creating no public sculpture at all. The 12th Swiss Sculpture Exhibition ESS-SPA in Biel/Bienne has been dedicated to performance in the urban space.

The edition of the Swiss Sculpture Exhibition in 2014 was  organized by two curators: Gianni Jetzer (Switzerland, 1969, lives in New York) and Chris Sharp (USA, 1974, lives in Mexico City). Their concept emphasizes the body in movement, both physically and politically.

The exhibition was  composed of three independent parts (Mouvement I-III), which have enriched and complemented one another. The first two parts have unfold within public space in the streets and squares of Biel/Bienne, while the third part was consisted of a more historical reflection at the city’s public art gallery, the Art Centre CentrePasquArt.

Mouvement I of the exhibition, Sculptures on the Move, has  functionned like a question to which the following part has been less a response than a provocation in return. The question has been posed through the curatorial reconfiguration of a selection of sculptures from former editions of the Swiss Sculpture Exhibition. Taken off their pedestals and re-presented in unconventional / non- traditional ways, they have been accompanied by a handful of artistic interventions, which have remained for the duration of the entire exhibition.

Mouvement II, Performing the City, which has taken place in August 2014, has responded to the first part by transforming the very city of Biel/Bienne into a vivid and dynamic exhibition space. A dense network of public performances has addressed itself to a pedestrian audience, while the urban context has been transfigured by the artistic interventions into a space of engaged observation. The exhibition has focused on the interfaces between visual arts and society, the public and the private, the individual and the crowd, immobility and movement.

Mouvement III of this exhibition, The City Performed, has taken place from August to November 2014 in the art centre CentrePasquArt. This museum exhibition has expanded and complemented the theme of the first two parts. Public space has been questioned in the context of electronic media and new social networks (Occupy, etc).

Timetable / key dates:
Sculptures on the Move and symposium
July 4 and 5 2014 (The interventions remained visible in Biel/Bienne until the end of August 2014)
Performing the City
August 26 to 31, 2014

The City Performed
August 30 until November 2 2014, opening August 30 2014, 5pm at Kunsthaus CentrePasquArt

frdeenprint

ESS Historique / 2014 /

LE MOUVEMENT

Exposition Suisse de Sculpture No 12 ESS, Biel – Bienne

La 12ème Exposition suisse de sculpture persiste dans sa tradition innovatrice en présentant en 2014 la plus radicale des éditions. Fidèle à son héritage provocateur de 60 ans LE MOUVEMENT remet en question la définition même de la sculpture dans l'espace urbain en ne créant ... aucune sculpture dans l'espace public. Elle sera consacrée à la performance dans l'espace urbain.

La prochaine édition de l'Exposition suisse de sculpture, en 2014, est organisée par deux curateurs : Gianni Jetzer (*1969, vit à New York) et Chris Sharp (*1974, vit à Mexico City). Leur concept met l'accent sur le corps en mouvement, tant physique que social.

Lʼexposition se composera de trois parties (Mouvement I -III) indépendantes qui s'interpénètrent et se complètent. Les deux premières se dérouleront dans l'espace public, dans les rues et sur les places de Bienne, tandis que la troisième proposera une exposition rétrospective dans la maison des beaux arts CentrePasquArt.

Mouvement I, Sculptures on the Move, présentera des interventions artistiques axées sur la mise en scène de sculptures existantes à Bienne. Des artistes seront invités à travailler dans l'espace urbain biennois en relation avec des sculptures provenant essentiellement de précédentes ESS, en faisant se mouvoir les objets et leur signification. Un symposium international aura lieu en parallèle.

Intitulée Performing the City, Mouvement II transformera au mois d'août 2014 la ville de Bienne en un lieu d'exposition vivant et extraordinaire. Un réseau dense de représentations publiques au centre-ville attirera un public intéressé. L'espace urbain sera transformé par les interventions artistiques en un lieu d'observation. Lʼexposition se focalisera sur les interfaces entre les arts visuels et la société, le privé et le public, lʼindividu et la foule, lʼimmobilité et le mouvement.

Mouvement III, The City Performed, se déroulera d'août à novembre 2014 dans le centre d'art CentrePasquArt. Cette exposition muséale approfondira et complétera la thématique des deux premiers actes et montrera l'art de la performance comme forme d'organisation sociale. La valeur de l'espace public sera questionnée dans le contexte des médias électroniques et des nouveaux réseaux sociaux (Occupy, etc.).

Calendrier:
Sculptures on the Move et symposium
Le 4 et 5 juillet 2014 (les interventions resteront visibles à Bienne jusqu'à la fin du mois d'octobre 2014)
Performing the City
Du 26 au 31 août 2014

The City Performed
Du 30 août au 2 novembre 2014, vernissage le 30 août 2014, 17h00 au Centre d'art CentrePasquaArt