frdeenprint

SPA History / 1991 / Mario Erdheim

Some psychoanalytical thoughts on monuments

Monuments or memorials are supposed to sustain memory. Memory re-presents the past. But the question is: how should monuments remind whom of what? They are supposed to elicit intellectual activity, thought – the German word for "monument" is "Denkmal", i.e. a "mark for thought" – and remind them of something that is past but continues to hold power and relevance. This is not to be taken for granted, as psychoanalysis also deals with a different kind of re-presentation called "acting out", which is different from thinking. "Acting out" refers to an action performed unconsciously to re-enact a past action or event. It is only when humans consciously think to remember that they may avoid the compulsion to repeat, that they may break their minds fateful coercion to always do what eludes their comprehension.


Seen in this light, most monuments represent instigations to act out. Monuments to warriors, for example, usually do not make people think, but rather entice them to wage more war. Even when we are dealing with memorials, it is difficult to think clearly, a fact that reveals a characteristic of monuments: they appeal to the superego. Actually, they are not, as has been claimed, descendants of the phallus but rather of the index finger raised in warning. The purpose of monuments is to impress something on people, such as the greatness of a warrior; or to instruct them: this is where such and such an event occurred; or to warn them, "Lest we forget!" The superego is the psyche's function that does not need to rely on insights, but makes imperative demands – the point is not to think and deliberate but to obey. Musil's acute observations that monuments are invisible, and that whoever is memorialised in a monument is actually condemned to eternal oblivion, also refer to the superego: as the individual who tends to respond to a strict superego by avoiding it, people overlook exhortatory monuments, forgetting the very thing they should remember.


Such monuments reflect a very specific form of historiography. It is the kind that has no answers to the questions from Brecht's "Worker Who Reads": "... and Babylon, many times demolished. Who raised it up so many times? [...] Great Rome is full of triumphal arches. Who erected them? Over whom did the Caesars triumph?"  (from Bertolt Brecht, Poems 1913-1956, M. Hamburger, trans.; Methuen, New York, London 1976).  But even if the monuments did have something to say about these things, if they could actually list the names of all the workers, of all the suppressed and exploited peoples – while monuments are superego-markers, they are also the graves into which our awareness of the past has been made to disappear.


Self-reflective modernist art has struggled greatly to impose itself over and against monuments that are so decidedly impervious to intellectual thought. Where this has been achieved, however, significant structural changes have occurred, similar to changes in the individuals who no longer obey the superego's commands, but are led by the insights of their egos. Such monuments have lost their monumentality, and are as unobtrusive as the voice of reason, nor do they proscribe the laughter that destroys any sacred aura. They do not impose themselves but seduce us by their mystery. They do not smooth over the contradictions but stimulate thinking by presenting their paradoxes openly. They avoid the sacrality that paralyses any intellectual activity, and make reference to the everydayness of life.


Mario Erdheim


 

© Translation from German, August 2008: Margret Powell-Joss

frdeenprint

ESS Historique / 1991 / Mario Erdheim

Réflexions psychanalytiques sur le monument 

Les monuments sont censés entretenir le souvenir; le souvenir est une remémoration d'une chose passée, mais on s'interroge: comment les monuments peuvent-ils rappeler à la mémoire - qui - quoi? Ils doivent amener les êtres humains à la mémoire et leur rappeler ainsi une chose certes passée, mais qui continue d'avoir son importance, de faire effet. Cela n'a rien d'un fait qui va de soi; la psychanalyse connaît également une autre sorte de remémoration, qui n'a rien à voir avec la pensée et qu'elle nomme «agir». «Agir» signifie répéter une chose passée par un comportement inconscient. Ce n'est que lorsque l'être humain se souvient en pensant qu'il a la capacité d'échapper à la contrainte de la répétition, de se soustraire à des impératifs qui lui imposent toujours de faire ce qui se dérobe à son entendement.


Sous cet angle, la plupart des monuments sont des incitations à agir. Les monuments à la gloire des héros par exemple n'appellent pas les gens à penser, mais les invitent à faire la guerre une fois de plus. Même pour des monuments expiatoires, la pensée est ardue et une caractéristique des monuments est mise en lumière: ils font appel au sur-moi. A vrai dire, ils ne sont pas, comme on l'a souvent prétendu, des rejetons du phallus, mais plutôt de l'index dressé. Les monuments doivent exalter auprès de l'être humain la grandeur du chef d'une armée par exemple ou ils doivent apprendre quelque chose (ici a eu lieu tel ou tel événement) ou encore dire «Attention, n'oubliez jamais!». Le sur-moi est une instance qui n'a besoin de se réclamer d'aucun entendement, mais qui ordonne impérativement - il ne s'agit pas de penser et de peser, mais d'obéir. Les cogitations lucides et truculentes de Musil sur les monuments renvoient aussi au sur-moi: les monuments sont imbibés d'une substance qui les rend invisibles et celui qui est glorifié à jamais par un monument est à vrai dire soumis aux affres de l'oubli. Comme les individus se défendent contre un sur-moi péremptoire en le contournant, de même ils ne voient pas les monuments et oublient ce qu'on veut leur rappeler.


Ces monuments reflètent une forme bien précise de considération historique, celle qui ne donne aucune réponse aux questions du travailleur de Brecht en train de lire: «... et Babylone qui fut détruite plusieurs fois - qui l'a reconstruite si souvent? (...) Rome la toute puissante est pleine d'arcs de triomphe. Qui les a érigés? De qui ont triomphé les Césars?». Et même si les monuments exprimaient quelque chose à ce sujet, s'ils énuméraient les noms de tous les travailleurs ou des peuples opprimés ou ravagés - aussi longtemps que les monuments embaumeront le sur-moi, ils seront également les sépultures dans lesquelles est enfouie la conscience du passé.


La réflexivité qui caractérise l'art moderne s'est imposée à grand-peine auprès des monuments qui proscrivent systématiquement la pensée. Et là où elle réussit, on assiste à des modifications importantes des structures, situation semblable à celle des individus qui n'obéissent plus aux ordres du sur-moi, mais au discernement de leur moi. Certes de tels monuments perdent alors leur monumentalité - ils sont paisibles comme la voix de la raison - mais n'excluent plus le rire qui pulvérise le nimbe qui les entoure. Ils ne s'imposent plus, mais déconcertent par leur caractère énigmatique. Ils ne gomment plus les contradictions, mais stimulent la pensée par leurs paradoxes. Ils évitent d'être intouchables pour ne pas paralyser les pensées et s'imbibent du quotidien.


Mario Erdheim