frdeenprint

The Foundation / Statutes /

Articles of Stiftung Schweizer Plastikausstellung Biel


    

I. Background

1.  Stiftung Schweizer Plastikausstellung Biel was established by Deed of Foundation N° 5'282 dated 9 May 1974 of Notary Hans Flückiger, by Einwohnergemeinde Biel/Bienne, Burgergemeinde Biel, the Biel-Seeland chapter of the association of trade and industry (Handels- und Industrievereins) of the Canton of Berne and Kunstverein Biel.

2.  The Deed of Foundation has since remained in effect unchanged.

3.  At the request of the Board of Trustees, the Deed of Foundation will be amended to take into account changes in circumstances and will be replaced by the following Articles from the date of the decision of the amending authorities. A French version of the name of the Foundation has been added.

II. Articles

Article 1. Name and Registered Office

1.1.  Under the name

Stiftung Schweizer Plastikausstellung Biel

 (Fondation Expositions Suisses de Sculpture Bienne)

is established an independent foundation within the meaning of Articles 80 et seq. of the Swiss Civil Code.

1.2.  The Foundation has its registered office in Biel/Bienne.


1.3.  The registered office may not be transferred elsewhere in Switzerland without the consent of the Supervisory Authority.


Article 2.    Purpose

2.1. The purpose of the Foundation is to organise exhibitions of works of art, and sculptures in particular, if possible at regular intervals, on public premises in Biel/Bienne. The Foundation may exhibit the work of artists working in Switzerland, of Swiss artists living abroad or of foreign artists living abroad. The Foundation may invite other artists whose work it considers particularly significant to participate in exhibitions.

   
The Foundation may also promote artists and cultural activities.


2.2. The Foundation’s profit and assets may only be used for the above-mentioned purpose. Profit-making purposes are excluded.

 

Article 3. Assets

3.1. At inception, the Foundation was endowed with a capital of CHF 9,000.00 paid in cash.


3.2. The Foundation shall finance its activities through

o recurrent contributions from its founders,

o contributions from organisations and funds for the promotion of art and culture, and

o contributions from patrons.


3.3. The Foundation’s assets shall be managed in accordance with generally recognised business principles. Assets other than tangible assets shall be invested in accordance with the Ordinance on Occupational Retirement, Survivors’ and Disability Pension Plans (OPP2/BVV2)


3.4. In addition to other means, the Foundation may use its endowment capital for attaining its corporate purpose.



Article 4. Bodies of the Foundation


The Foundation has the following bodies:

  • The Board of Trustees
  • The auditor, if an auditor is indispensable.

Article 5. Board of Trustees and Composition of the Board

5.1.  The Board of Trustees is the Foundation’s governing body; it shall consist of no less than 6 (six) and no more than 10 (ten) Trustees who shall predominantly come from artistic or cultural circles, or be interested in culture and the arts.


5.2.  The Trustees basically serve in an honorary capacity. The Board of Trustees may decide to pay compensation to its members or to other persons to whom it has delegated extraordinary, time-consuming tasks.


5.3.  The Board of Trustees is responsible for its own internal organisation. It shall appoint a Chairman, a Treasurer and a Secretary. The Secretary need not be a member of the Board of Trustees.


5.4.  The Chairman, Deputy Chairman, Treasurer and Secretary shall have joint signing powers (two signatures). At least two Trustees with joint signing powers shall be Swiss residents.



Article 6.    Constituting and Appointment of the Board


6.1. The Board of Trustees shall be constituted as follows:

a) designation of Trustees by

  • The canton of Bern    1 Trustee
  • Biel/Bienne          3 Trustees
  • Burgergemeinde Biel    1 Trustee
  • Kunstverein Biel    1 Trustee

b) At the constitutive meeting, the Trustees thus appointed may elect no more than 4 (four) additional Trustees, for the same term of office. Decisions of the Board of Trustees require an absolute majority of the Trustees listed in sub-paragraph a), who must be present at the meeting.


6.2. Trustees are appointed for a term of 5 (five) years. They may be re-elected.


6.3. If a seat becomes vacant during the term of office, a successor shall be appointed or elected, as the case may be, as provided in sub-paragraph a or b above. The successor shall complete his predecessor’s term of office.


6.4. Trustees may be dismissed at any time for just cause. Just cause shall be deemed to exist in particular if the Trustee concerned breaches his obligations towards the Foundation or is no longer capable of properly performing his duties. Resolutions for the dismissal of Trustees require a two-thirds majority of all votes.


6.5. The particulars of the Trustees and the authorised signatories, as well as any changes, shall be promptly communicated to the Register of Commerce and to the Supervisory Authority.



Article 7. Powers of the Board of Trustees

7.1.  The Board of Trustees is responsible for managing the Foundation, in particular from the artistic, financial and operational points of view; it represents the Foundation externally. All powers that are not explicitly conferred to any other body by virtue of the present Deed and the Foundation’s by-laws shall vest with the Board of Trustees.


7.2.  The Board of Trustees may adopt by-laws regulating the organisation, management and activities of the Foundation and specifying guidelines for individual events in particular.


7.3.  The Board of Trustees has the following non revocable duties:

a) appointment of Trustees in accordance with the Deed of Foundation;

b) constituting the Board of Trustees and regulating signing powers;

c) election of the auditor, where applicable;

d) approval of the annual report and financial statements.


7.4.  The Board of Trustees may delegate one or more of its powers to individual Trustees, to committees appointed by it or to third parties, and adopt the requisite regulations and guidelines governing their activities and reporting.


7.5.  The Board of Trustees may appoint a Managing Director who need not be a member of the Board.


7.6.  The financial year coincides with the calendar year. The Board of Trustees shall submit its annual report, financial statements and audit report, if applicable, to the Supervisory Board each year, no later than six months after the end of the financial year.



Article 8. Decision-making

8.1.  The Board of Trustees shall meet as often as business requires, but not less than once a year. As a rule, the invitation to a meeting of the Board of Trustees shall be sent 30 days before the date of the meeting.


8.2.  The Board of Trustees has a quorum when a majority of its members are present. Resolutions shall be adopted by a simple majority unless a qualified majority is required under the Deed of Foundation or the By-laws. In the case of a tied vote, the Chairman has the casting vote.


8.3.  Resolutions may also be adopted by circular letter provided no Trustee demands an oral debate. Resolutions adopted by circular letter are valid if the majority of the Trustees have approved the proposal.


8.4.  Minutes shall be kept of the debates and resolutions of the Board of Trustees.



Article 9. By-laws

The Board of Trustees may adopt additional by-laws. The Board may amend the Foundation’s By-laws in accordance with the Foundation’s purpose. The By-laws and any amendments thereto shall be submitted to the Supervisory Authority for approval.



Article 10. The Auditor

10.1. The Board of Directors shall appoint an auditor (Article 83b Civil Code), who must be:

  • if the Foundation is subject to normal auditing requirements, a licensed auditor, or a firm of auditors under public supervision, within the meaning of the law on the regulation of auditors, or
  • if the Foundation is subject to limited auditing requirements, a licensed auditor, within the meaning of the law on the regulation of auditors.


If the Foundation is subject to limited auditing requirements, the Supervisory Authority may ask for a normal audit if it deems it necessary for a reliable appraisal of the Foundation’s assets and earnings situation.


10.2. Natural persons, legal persons or partnerships may be appointed auditor. The auditor shall be resident, or have its registered office or a registered branch office, in Switzerland. The appointed auditor, and any changes, shall be promptly communicated to the Register of Commerce and to the Supervisory Authority.


10.3. The auditor shall audit the Foundation’s book-keeping and financial situation every year. It shall verify compliance with the provisions of the Deed of Foundation and the By-laws. It shall more particularly also verify that Foundation assets have been used for its statutory purpose. The auditor shall document the results of its audit in a report for the Board of Trustees. The auditor shall remit a copy of the audit report to the Supervisory Authority, together with any important notices to the Foundation (Article 83c Civil Code).


10.4. The Foundation may dispense with appointing an auditor and the conduct of a limited audit if it is released from auditing requirements by virtue of a decision of the Supervisory Authority. A release from auditing requirements is admissible if the Foundation’s balance sheet shows total assets of less than CHF 200,000.00 for two consecutive years, if the Foundation does not publicly solicit donations or other contributions and if an audit is not necessary for a reliable appraisal of the Foundation’s assets and earnings situation. These criteria are cumulative and must all be fulfilled.


If the Foundation is released from the requirement for an audit, it may decide to have an audit made on a voluntary basis.



Article 11.  Amendment of the Foundation Deed

The Board of Trustees may apply to the Supervisory Authority to amend the Deed in accordance with Articles 85, 86 and 86b of the Civil Code.

Article 12. Bodies of the Foundation


12.1. The Foundation is established for an indefinite duration. The Foundation may only be terminated on the grounds contemplated by law (Article 88 Civil Code).


12.2. The Board of Trustees may apply to the Supervisory Authority to amend the Deed in accordance with Articles 85, 86 and 86b of the Civil Code.


12.3. Residual assets, if any, shall vest with the Biel/Bienne township (Einwohnergemeinde Biel/Bienne) and be applied to cultural purposes which are as close as possible to the corporate purpose of the Foundation. Assets may not devolve back to the other Founders of their successors.


12.4. The last Board of Trustees shall be responsible for the liquidation of the Foundation.


12.5. The termination and dissolution of the Foundation is subject to the consent of the Supervisory Authority.



Article 13. Final Provisions


          13.1. The present Articles were approved by the Board of Trustees and submitted

                   to the Supervisory Authority on 30 May 2008.


          13.2. They were signed in 6 copies.



Biel, 30 May 2008

On behalf of the Board of Trustees


The Chairman   

Stéphane de Montmollin   

The Secretary
Pierre Edouard Hefti

frdeenprint

La fondation / Statuts /

Statuts
de la fondation
Expositions Suisses de Sculpture Bienne


    

I.    Constatation préliminaire

1. En vertu de l’acte de fondation authentifié du 9 mai 1974, original N° 5'282 du notaire Hans Flückiger à Bienne, la commune de Bienne, la bourgeoisie de Bienne, la section Bienne-Seeland de l’Union du commerce et de l’industrie du canton de Berne et la Société des Beaux-Arts de Bienne ont créé la fondation Expositions Suisses de Sculpture Bienne.


2. L’acte de fondation resta par la suite en vigueur sans modification.


3. Pour répondre au changement des conditions, l’acte de fondation est révisé sur proposition du conseil de fondation et remplacé par la nouvelle version révisée et datée selon le décret des autorités compétentes. Ce faisant, une  version du nom de la fondation en langue française est introduite.


II.    Conditions statutaires

Article 1 - Nom et siège

1.1. Sous le nom

Fondation Expositions Suisses de Sculpture Bienne
(Stiftung Schweizer Plastikausstellung Biel)

existe une fondation indépendante selon article 80ss. du Code civil suisse (CCS).

1.2. La fondation a son siège à Bienne.
1.3. Le déménagement du siège dans un autre lieu en Suisse exige l’approbation des autorités de surveillance.


Article 2 - But

2.1. La fondation a pour but d’organiser à intervalles réguliers des expositions d’oeuvres d’art, notamment des sculptures dans l’espace public de la ville de Bienne. Les œuvres exposées peuvent provenir d’artistes travaillant en Suisse, d’artistes suisses domiciliés à l’étranger ou d’artistes étrangers domiciliés à l’étranger. La fondation peut inviter à participer à l’exposition d’autres artistes, dont les œuvres revêtent pour elle de l’importance.

La fondation peut en plus encourager la création artistique et le travail culturel.

2.2. Le gain et le  capital de la fondation ne sont dévolus qu’au but nommé ci-dessus. Des buts d’acquisition sont exclus.


Article 3 - Fortune

3.1. Lors de sa création, la fondation a été dotée d’un capital en liquide de CHF 9'000.-.


3.2. La fondation acquiert pour ses activités les moyens nécessaires.

  • sous forme de contributions répétées des membres fondateurs
  • sous forme de contributions d’organisations et de fonds de promotion du travail artistique et culturel
  • en récoltant des dons


3.3. La fortune de la fondation doit être gérée selon les principes commerciaux reconnus. Dans la mesure où il ne s’agit pas de  biens réelles, le capital doit être investi dans l’esprit de l’ordonnance sur la prévoyance professionnelle vieillesse, survivants et invalidité (OPP2).


3.4. Le capital de la fondation peut être utilisé en plus des autres moyens pour réaliser le but de la fondation.


Article 4 - Organe de la fondation

Les organes de la fondation sont :

  • Le conseil de fondation
  • L’organe de révision, au cas où il n’est pas possible de renoncer à ce dernier.


Article 5 - Conseil de fondation et composition

5.1. L’administration de la fondation appartient au conseil de fondation qui est constitué au moins de 6 (six) et au plus de 10 (dix) membres, principalement des personnalités actives ou intéressées par les arts et la culture.


5.2. Le conseil de fondation travaille en principe bénévolement. Il décide de l’octroi de dédommagement à des membres ou des personnes, auxquels des tâches particulièrement lourdes sont confiées.


5.3. Le conseil de fondation se constitue lui-même. Il nomme un président, un caissier et un secrétaire. Le secrétaire ne doit pas être membre du conseil de fondation.  


5.4. Le président, le vice-président, le caissier et le secrétaire signe collectivement à deux. Au moins deux membres habilités à signer doivent être domiciliés en Suisse.


Article 6 - Constitution et complément

6.1. Le conseil de fondation est formé de la manière suivante :

a) Sont nommés par:

  • Le Canton de Berne 1 membre
  • La commune de Bienne 3 membres
  • La bourgeoisie de Bienne 1 membre
  • La Société des beaux-arts de Bienne 1 membre


b) Les membres du conseil de fondation ainsi nommés peuvent nommer lors de la séance constitutive du conseil de fondation et pour la même période au plus 4 (quatre) membres de leur choix. L’élection s’effectue à la majorité absolue des membres nommés ci-dessus au point a).   


6.2. Le mandat des membres du conseil de fondation dure 5 (cinq) ans. L’élection pour une nouvelle période est possible.


6.3. Si une vacance intervient au cours d’une période, un successeur est choisi par l’instance de nomination conformément au point a) ou d’élection conformément au point b). Le remplaçant termine la période de son prédécesseur.


6.4. L’exclusion du conseil d’un de ses membres est possible en tout temps pour des motifs importants. Un motif important est en particulier constitué quand le membre concerné déroge à ses obligations envers la fondation ou s’il n’est plus en mesure d’exercer correctement son mandat. Le conseil de fondation statue à la majorité des deux tiers sur l’éviction d’un de ses membres.


6.5. La constitution du conseil de fondation et les membres habilités à signer, ainsi que d’éventuels changements doivent être annoncés sans délai au registre du commerce et à l’autorité de surveillance.


Article 7 -     Compétences du conseil de fondation

7.1. Il incombe au conseil de fondation de diriger la fondation, notamment en matière de gestion, de finance et de choix artistiques, ainsi que de la représenter à l’extérieur. Il est habilité pour tous les aspects dont le présent acte ou des règlements de la fondation ne prévoient pas expressément la délégation à un  autre organe.


7.2. Le conseil de fondation peut définir dans un règlement les détails de l’organisation, de la direction des affaires et des activités de la fondation et notamment des directives pour des manifestations particulières.


7.3. Le conseil de fondation ne peut déroger aux tâches suivantes :


a)    La nomination de membres du conseil de fondation conformément aux statuts.

b)    La constitution du conseil de fondation et les modalités des signatures.

c)    L’élection de l’organe de révision, pour autant que cela soit nécessaire.

d)    L’approbation des comptes et du rapport annuels.


7.4. Le conseil de fondation est habilité à déléguer des prérogatives particulières à un ou plusieurs de ses membres, à des commissions qu’il aura constituées ou à des tiers; il édictera les règlements et directives nécessaires pour définir leurs activités et leur manière de rapporter.  


7.5. Le conseil de fondation peut nommer un directeur qui n’est pas membre du conseil de fondation. 


7.6. L’exercice correspond au calendrier annuel. Le conseil de fondation remet à l’autorité de surveillance au plus tard six mois après le bouclement de l’année le rapport d’activité, les comptes annuels et si nécessaire le rapport de l’organe de révision.


Article 8 - Prise de décision

8.1. Le conseil de fondation se réunit aussi souvent que les affaires l’exigent, toutefois au moins une fois par an. L’invitation aux séances est envoyée par principe 30 jours avant la date de la séance.


8.2. Le conseil de fondation atteint le quorum si la majorité de ses membres est présente. Il décide à la majorité simple pour autant que les statuts ou un règlement ne prévoient pas une majorité qualifiée. En cas d’égalité des voix, le président décide.


8.3. Des décisions peuvent être prises par voie circulaire pour autant qu’aucun membre n’exige un débat oral. Les décisions par voie circulaire sont effectives quand la majorité des membres du conseil accepte la proposition.


8.4. Les débats et décisions du conseil de fondation sont consignées dans un procès-verbal.


Article 9 - Règlements


Le conseil de fondation peut promulguer des règlements. Les règlements peuvent être modifiés par le conseil de fondation dans le cadre des buts. Les règlements et leurs modifications sont à soumettre pour approbation à l’organe de surveillance.

Article 10 - Organe de révision

10.1. Le conseil de fondation désigne un organe de révision (article 83b CSS) :

  • un expert réviseur agréé ou une entreprise de révision accréditée par l’état selon les prescriptions de la loi sur l’agrément et la surveillance des réviseurs si la fondation est assujettie à une révision ordinaire.
  • un réviseur agréé selon les prescriptions de la loi sur l'agrément et la surveillance des réviseurs si la fondation est assujettie à une révision restreinte.


Si la fondation est assujettie à une révision restreinte, l’organe de surveillance peut exiger une révision ordinaire si une évaluation fiable de l’état de la fortune et des recettes de la fondation l’exige.

10.2. L’organe de révision choisi peut être une personne naturelle ou juridique ou une société de personnes. L’organe de révision doit être domicilié, avoir son siège ou sa succursale en Suisse. Le choix de l’organe de révision ainsi que les changements éventuels doivent être annoncés sans délais au registre du commerce et à l’organe de surveillance.

10.3. L’organe de révision examine annuellement la tenue des comptes et l’état de la fortune. Il examine le respect des prescriptions de l’acte de fondation et des règlements. Il vérifie notamment que la fortune est utilisée conformément aux buts. L’organe de révision consigne les conclusions de ses vérifications dans un rapport adressé au conseil de fondation. L’organe de révision transmet une copie de son rapport de révision et des communications importantes à l’organe de surveillance  (art. 83c CCS).

10.4. La fondation peut renoncer à une révision restreinte et à la désignation d’un organe de révision si elle dispose d’un décret qui l’en dispense établi par l’organe de surveillance. Une telle dispense est admissible si durant deux exercice consécutifs, le montant du bilan est inférieur à CHF 200'000.-, si la fondation ne fait pas publiquement appel à des dons ou autres subventions et si la révision n’est pas nécessaire pour l’évaluation de l’état de la fortune et des recettes de la fondation. Ces exigences cumulatives doivent être remplies.

Si la fondation est dispensée de l’obligation de réviser, elle peut effectuer une révision volontaire.


Article 11 - Modification de l’acte de fondation

Le conseil de fondation peut proposer une modification de l’acte de fondation à l’organe de surveillance dans le sens des articles 85, 86 et 86b CCS.

Article 12 - Suppression de la fondation

12.1. La durée de la fondation est illimitée. La suppression de la fondation ne peut avoir lieu que pour les motifs prévus par la loi (art. 88 CCS).

12.2. Avec l’aval de tous les fondateurs, le conseil de fondation peut proposer à l’organe de révision de supprimer la fondation.

12.3. La fortune restante va à la commune de Bienne et doit être affectée à des tâches culturelles aussi proches que possible des buts de la fondation. Un remboursement de la fortune aux autres fondateurs ou à leurs successeurs légaux est exclu.

12.4. La liquidation de la fondation incombe au dernier conseil de fondation.

12.5. L’approbation de l’organe de surveillance pour la suppression et la liquidation demeure réservée.


Article 13 - Conclusions

13.1. Les présents statuts ont été approuvés par le conseil de fondation à l’attention de l’organe de surveillance le 30 mai 2008.


13.2. Ils sont signés en six exemplaires.


Bienne, le 30 mai 2008


Au nom du conseil de fondation

Le président:
Stéphane de Montmollin

Le secrétaire:
Pierre Edouard Hefti