frdeenprint

SPA History / 2014 / Mouvement III /

The City Performed

August 26 to November 2 2014

Exhibition in Kunsthaus CentrePasquArt

Opening ceremony on August 26 2014 6 p.m.

The performances of Le Mouvement explore public space and its limits in Biel in 2014. The artistic interventions are announced as such and are possibly treated differently under the protective mantle of the Swiss Sculpure Exhibition. Performing the City relates exclusively to Biel, an extremely limited segment of what public space signifies internationally. The urban public realm is always determined by local conditions and is strongly coloured by the political system, the legislation in force, how this legislation is implemented, economic circumstances, moral sensibilities, the influence of grassroots movements, cultural policy etc.
The exhibition The City Performed at the Kunsthaus CentrePasquArt extends the concept of public space internationally - in both historical-geographical and political terms. It explicitly encompasses artists who have implemented street performances under various circumstances - in some cases at the risk of being arrested and imprisioned.  The museum-bases explorationn at Kunsthaus CentrePasquArt offers a more in-depth examination of the context of performance.  In a nutshell, it is certainly fair to say that public space as a term and concept are different for each of the works exhibited. Considering differences and distictions is the only way to tackle the complexity of the system of discourse, society, city, and public space.
It is however not always a desire to have an impact in a political context that drives artists out into the street - on the contrary. The urge to abaondon the protective walls of the art instititution has been omnipresent since the sixties. Parallel to Land Art, which chose the world of nature as exhibition venue, more and more artists turned to the street and used it as a platform, an alternative to art spaces, neutral terrain, not appropriated by official art discourse.
The city is viewed as neutral terrain, which is not integrated into an art discourse and is free from preferences of state art policy. Artists who renounce the context of the exhibiton space signal their independence, However, the documentary records of these performances often end up back in the art sphere once again.

frdeenprint

SPA Geschichte / 2014 / Mouvement III /

The City Perfomed

26. bis 2. November 2014

Kunst-Ausstellung im Kunsthaus CentrePasquArt

Eröffnungsfeier am 26. August 2014, 18 Uhr

Die Performances von Le Mouvement loten den öffentlichen Raum und seine Grenzen in Biel im Jahre 2014 aus. Die künstlerischen Interventionen sind als solche angekündigt und erfahren möglicherweise unter dem Schutzmantel der Schweizerischen Plastikausstellung eine andere Behandlung. Performing the City bezieht sich ausschliesslich auf Biel, ein äusserst begrenzter Ausschnitt von dem, was öffentlicher Raum international darstellt. Städtische Öffentlichkeit ist immer lokal bedingt und stark eingefärbt von politischem System, geltenden Gesetzen, Handhabung dieser Gesetze, wirtschaftlichen Gegebenheiten, Sittlichkeitsempfinden, Einfluss von Bürgerbewegungen, Kulturpolitik, etc.
Die Ausstellung The City Performed im Kunsthaus CentrePasquArt erweitert die Begrifflichkeit von öffentlichem Raum international - sowohl historisch-geografisch als auch politisch. Bewusst werden Kunstschaffende integriert, die unter verschiedenartigen Bedingungen Performances auf der Strasse verwirklicht haben - teilweise auf die Gefahr hin, verhaftet und eingesperrt zu werden. Die museale Untersuchung im Kunsthaus CentrePasquArt bietet ein eingehendere Untersuchung des Kontexts von Performance. Zusammenfassend lässt sich vorausschicken, dass der Begriff und das Verständnis von öffentlichem Raum für jede einzelne der ausgestellten Arbeiten andere sind, Die Komplexität des System von Diskurs, Gesellschaft, Stadt und öffentlichem Raum kann nur durch Differenzen erörtert werden.
Es ist jedoch nicht immer der Wunsch, in einem politischen Kontext zu wirken, der Kunstschaffende auf die Strasse treibt - ganz im Gegenteil. Der Drang, die schützenden Wände der Kunstinstitutionen zu verlassen ist seit den 1960er-Jahren allgegenwärtig. Parallel zur Land-Art, welche die Natur zur Ausstellungsstätte erkor, wandten sich immer mehr Kunstschaffende der Strasse zu und nutzten sie als Bühne, als Alternative zum Kunstraum, als neutralen Grund, der nicht von einem offiziellen Kunstdiskus vereinnahmt wird.
Die Stadt wird als neutrales Terrain gesehen, das nicht eingebunden ist in einen Kunstdiskus oder aber frei ist von Präferenzen staatlicher Kunstpolitik. Kunstschaffen, die auf den Kontext des Ausstellungsraumes verzichten, setzen ein Zeichen der Unabhängigkeit. Allerdings landen die Dokumentionen dieser Performances oftmals wieder im Kunstraum.