frdeenprint

SPA History / 2014 /

LE MOUVEMENT

12th Swiss Sculpture Exhibition Biel-Bienne      


The 12th edition of the Swiss Sculpture Exhibition in 2014 has continued the innovative spirit of the format by offering the most radical edition yet. True to its provocative legacy of 60 years, LE MOUVEMENT has challenge the very definition of public sculpture by creating no public sculpture at all. The 12th Swiss Sculpture Exhibition ESS-SPA in Biel/Bienne has been dedicated to performance in the urban space.

The edition of the Swiss Sculpture Exhibition in 2014 was  organized by two curators: Gianni Jetzer (Switzerland, 1969, lives in New York) and Chris Sharp (USA, 1974, lives in Mexico City). Their concept emphasizes the body in movement, both physically and politically.

The exhibition was  composed of three independent parts (Mouvement I-III), which have enriched and complemented one another. The first two parts have unfold within public space in the streets and squares of Biel/Bienne, while the third part was consisted of a more historical reflection at the city’s public art gallery, the Art Centre CentrePasquArt.

Mouvement I of the exhibition, Sculptures on the Move, has  functionned like a question to which the following part has been less a response than a provocation in return. The question has been posed through the curatorial reconfiguration of a selection of sculptures from former editions of the Swiss Sculpture Exhibition. Taken off their pedestals and re-presented in unconventional / non- traditional ways, they have been accompanied by a handful of artistic interventions, which have remained for the duration of the entire exhibition.

Mouvement II, Performing the City, which has taken place in August 2014, has responded to the first part by transforming the very city of Biel/Bienne into a vivid and dynamic exhibition space. A dense network of public performances has addressed itself to a pedestrian audience, while the urban context has been transfigured by the artistic interventions into a space of engaged observation. The exhibition has focused on the interfaces between visual arts and society, the public and the private, the individual and the crowd, immobility and movement.

Mouvement III of this exhibition, The City Performed, has taken place from August to November 2014 in the art centre CentrePasquArt. This museum exhibition has expanded and complemented the theme of the first two parts. Public space has been questioned in the context of electronic media and new social networks (Occupy, etc).

Timetable / key dates:
Sculptures on the Move and symposium
July 4 and 5 2014 (The interventions remained visible in Biel/Bienne until the end of August 2014)
Performing the City
August 26 to 31, 2014

The City Performed
August 30 until November 2 2014, opening August 30 2014, 5pm at Kunsthaus CentrePasquArt

frdeenprint

SPA Geschichte / 2014 /

LE MOUVEMENT

Schweizerische Plastikausstellung Nr. 12 SPA Biel – Bienne

Die 12. Ausgabe der Schweizerischen Plastikausstellung in Biel führte die innovative Linie dieser seit 60 Jahren bestehenden Ausstellungsreihe weiter. 2014 war die radikalste der bisherigen Ausstellungen. Ihrem provokativen Erbe entsprechend, hat LE MOUVEMENT den Begriff von Skulptur im offentlichen Raum radikal erweitert, indem sie gar keine Skulptur ausstellte. Die 12. Ausgabe widmete sich ausschliesslich der Performance im urbanen Raum.

Fur das kuratorische Konzept verantwortlich zeichneten die beiden Kuratoren Gianni Jetzer (*1969 Schweiz, lebt in New York) und Chris Sharp (*1974 USA, lebt in Mexico City). Ihr Ansatz stand im Zeichen des Körpers in Bewegung – sowohl physisch als auch politisch.

Die Ausstellung bestand aus drei unabhängigen Bewegungen (Mouvement I - III), die sich gegenseitig durchdrangen und ergänzten. Die ersten beiden Bewegungen geschahen im oöffentlichen Raum – auf den Strassen und Plätzen Biels – die dritte als rekapitulierende Ausstellung im Kunsthaus CentrePasquArt.

Das Mouvement I Sculptures on the Move im Juli 2014 hatte das Inszenieren von bestehenden Skulpturen vor Ort zum Thema. Hier wurden Künstler eingeladen auf bestehende Skulpturen im Bieler Stadtraum zu reagieren, um sie räumlich oder inhaltlich in Bewegung zu setzen. Gleichzeitig fand ein internationales Symposium statt.

Das Mouvement II, Performing the City, Ende August 2014 verwandeltd Biel in eine einzigartige lebende Ausstellung mit Performances auf Strassen und Plätzen. Ein dichtes Netz öffentlicher Aufführungen in der Innenstadt lockte ein interessiertes Publikum an. Der Stadtraum verwandelte sich durch die künstlerischen Interventionen in einen Ort der erhöhten Präsenz. Als Brennpunkt fungierte die Schnittstelle zwischen Kunst und Gesellschaft, Privatheit und Offentlichkeit, Individuum und Masse, Stillstand und Bewegung.

Das Mouvement III, The City Performed, fand von August bis Oktober 2014 im Kunsthaus CentrePasquArt Biel statt. Die museale Ausstellung vertiefte die beiden Bewegungen und zeigte Performancekunst als eine Form sozialer Organisation im Stadtraum. Dabei spielt insbesondere die Bedeutung des öffentlichen Raumes anfangs 21. Jahrhunderts im Kontext von elektronischen Medien und neuen demokratischen Bewegungen (Occupy etc.) eine tragende Rolle.

Kalender:
Sculptures on the Move
4. - 5. Juli 2014 (die Interventionen blieben bis Ende August 2014 in Biel sichtbar)
Performing the City
26. bis 31. August 2014

The City Performed
30. August bis 2. November 2014, Vernissage 30. August 2014, 17 Uhr im Kunsthaus CentrePasquArt