frdeenprint

The Foundation / Statutes /

Articles of Stiftung Schweizer Plastikausstellung Biel


    

I. Background

1.  Stiftung Schweizer Plastikausstellung Biel was established by Deed of Foundation N° 5'282 dated 9 May 1974 of Notary Hans Flückiger, by Einwohnergemeinde Biel/Bienne, Burgergemeinde Biel, the Biel-Seeland chapter of the association of trade and industry (Handels- und Industrievereins) of the Canton of Berne and Kunstverein Biel.

2.  The Deed of Foundation has since remained in effect unchanged.

3.  At the request of the Board of Trustees, the Deed of Foundation will be amended to take into account changes in circumstances and will be replaced by the following Articles from the date of the decision of the amending authorities. A French version of the name of the Foundation has been added.

II. Articles

Article 1. Name and Registered Office

1.1.  Under the name

Stiftung Schweizer Plastikausstellung Biel

 (Fondation Expositions Suisses de Sculpture Bienne)

is established an independent foundation within the meaning of Articles 80 et seq. of the Swiss Civil Code.

1.2.  The Foundation has its registered office in Biel/Bienne.


1.3.  The registered office may not be transferred elsewhere in Switzerland without the consent of the Supervisory Authority.


Article 2.    Purpose

2.1. The purpose of the Foundation is to organise exhibitions of works of art, and sculptures in particular, if possible at regular intervals, on public premises in Biel/Bienne. The Foundation may exhibit the work of artists working in Switzerland, of Swiss artists living abroad or of foreign artists living abroad. The Foundation may invite other artists whose work it considers particularly significant to participate in exhibitions.

   
The Foundation may also promote artists and cultural activities.


2.2. The Foundation’s profit and assets may only be used for the above-mentioned purpose. Profit-making purposes are excluded.

 

Article 3. Assets

3.1. At inception, the Foundation was endowed with a capital of CHF 9,000.00 paid in cash.


3.2. The Foundation shall finance its activities through

o recurrent contributions from its founders,

o contributions from organisations and funds for the promotion of art and culture, and

o contributions from patrons.


3.3. The Foundation’s assets shall be managed in accordance with generally recognised business principles. Assets other than tangible assets shall be invested in accordance with the Ordinance on Occupational Retirement, Survivors’ and Disability Pension Plans (OPP2/BVV2)


3.4. In addition to other means, the Foundation may use its endowment capital for attaining its corporate purpose.



Article 4. Bodies of the Foundation


The Foundation has the following bodies:

  • The Board of Trustees
  • The auditor, if an auditor is indispensable.

Article 5. Board of Trustees and Composition of the Board

5.1.  The Board of Trustees is the Foundation’s governing body; it shall consist of no less than 6 (six) and no more than 10 (ten) Trustees who shall predominantly come from artistic or cultural circles, or be interested in culture and the arts.


5.2.  The Trustees basically serve in an honorary capacity. The Board of Trustees may decide to pay compensation to its members or to other persons to whom it has delegated extraordinary, time-consuming tasks.


5.3.  The Board of Trustees is responsible for its own internal organisation. It shall appoint a Chairman, a Treasurer and a Secretary. The Secretary need not be a member of the Board of Trustees.


5.4.  The Chairman, Deputy Chairman, Treasurer and Secretary shall have joint signing powers (two signatures). At least two Trustees with joint signing powers shall be Swiss residents.



Article 6.    Constituting and Appointment of the Board


6.1. The Board of Trustees shall be constituted as follows:

a) designation of Trustees by

  • The canton of Bern    1 Trustee
  • Biel/Bienne          3 Trustees
  • Burgergemeinde Biel    1 Trustee
  • Kunstverein Biel    1 Trustee

b) At the constitutive meeting, the Trustees thus appointed may elect no more than 4 (four) additional Trustees, for the same term of office. Decisions of the Board of Trustees require an absolute majority of the Trustees listed in sub-paragraph a), who must be present at the meeting.


6.2. Trustees are appointed for a term of 5 (five) years. They may be re-elected.


6.3. If a seat becomes vacant during the term of office, a successor shall be appointed or elected, as the case may be, as provided in sub-paragraph a or b above. The successor shall complete his predecessor’s term of office.


6.4. Trustees may be dismissed at any time for just cause. Just cause shall be deemed to exist in particular if the Trustee concerned breaches his obligations towards the Foundation or is no longer capable of properly performing his duties. Resolutions for the dismissal of Trustees require a two-thirds majority of all votes.


6.5. The particulars of the Trustees and the authorised signatories, as well as any changes, shall be promptly communicated to the Register of Commerce and to the Supervisory Authority.



Article 7. Powers of the Board of Trustees

7.1.  The Board of Trustees is responsible for managing the Foundation, in particular from the artistic, financial and operational points of view; it represents the Foundation externally. All powers that are not explicitly conferred to any other body by virtue of the present Deed and the Foundation’s by-laws shall vest with the Board of Trustees.


7.2.  The Board of Trustees may adopt by-laws regulating the organisation, management and activities of the Foundation and specifying guidelines for individual events in particular.


7.3.  The Board of Trustees has the following non revocable duties:

a) appointment of Trustees in accordance with the Deed of Foundation;

b) constituting the Board of Trustees and regulating signing powers;

c) election of the auditor, where applicable;

d) approval of the annual report and financial statements.


7.4.  The Board of Trustees may delegate one or more of its powers to individual Trustees, to committees appointed by it or to third parties, and adopt the requisite regulations and guidelines governing their activities and reporting.


7.5.  The Board of Trustees may appoint a Managing Director who need not be a member of the Board.


7.6.  The financial year coincides with the calendar year. The Board of Trustees shall submit its annual report, financial statements and audit report, if applicable, to the Supervisory Board each year, no later than six months after the end of the financial year.



Article 8. Decision-making

8.1.  The Board of Trustees shall meet as often as business requires, but not less than once a year. As a rule, the invitation to a meeting of the Board of Trustees shall be sent 30 days before the date of the meeting.


8.2.  The Board of Trustees has a quorum when a majority of its members are present. Resolutions shall be adopted by a simple majority unless a qualified majority is required under the Deed of Foundation or the By-laws. In the case of a tied vote, the Chairman has the casting vote.


8.3.  Resolutions may also be adopted by circular letter provided no Trustee demands an oral debate. Resolutions adopted by circular letter are valid if the majority of the Trustees have approved the proposal.


8.4.  Minutes shall be kept of the debates and resolutions of the Board of Trustees.



Article 9. By-laws

The Board of Trustees may adopt additional by-laws. The Board may amend the Foundation’s By-laws in accordance with the Foundation’s purpose. The By-laws and any amendments thereto shall be submitted to the Supervisory Authority for approval.



Article 10. The Auditor

10.1. The Board of Directors shall appoint an auditor (Article 83b Civil Code), who must be:

  • if the Foundation is subject to normal auditing requirements, a licensed auditor, or a firm of auditors under public supervision, within the meaning of the law on the regulation of auditors, or
  • if the Foundation is subject to limited auditing requirements, a licensed auditor, within the meaning of the law on the regulation of auditors.


If the Foundation is subject to limited auditing requirements, the Supervisory Authority may ask for a normal audit if it deems it necessary for a reliable appraisal of the Foundation’s assets and earnings situation.


10.2. Natural persons, legal persons or partnerships may be appointed auditor. The auditor shall be resident, or have its registered office or a registered branch office, in Switzerland. The appointed auditor, and any changes, shall be promptly communicated to the Register of Commerce and to the Supervisory Authority.


10.3. The auditor shall audit the Foundation’s book-keeping and financial situation every year. It shall verify compliance with the provisions of the Deed of Foundation and the By-laws. It shall more particularly also verify that Foundation assets have been used for its statutory purpose. The auditor shall document the results of its audit in a report for the Board of Trustees. The auditor shall remit a copy of the audit report to the Supervisory Authority, together with any important notices to the Foundation (Article 83c Civil Code).


10.4. The Foundation may dispense with appointing an auditor and the conduct of a limited audit if it is released from auditing requirements by virtue of a decision of the Supervisory Authority. A release from auditing requirements is admissible if the Foundation’s balance sheet shows total assets of less than CHF 200,000.00 for two consecutive years, if the Foundation does not publicly solicit donations or other contributions and if an audit is not necessary for a reliable appraisal of the Foundation’s assets and earnings situation. These criteria are cumulative and must all be fulfilled.


If the Foundation is released from the requirement for an audit, it may decide to have an audit made on a voluntary basis.



Article 11.  Amendment of the Foundation Deed

The Board of Trustees may apply to the Supervisory Authority to amend the Deed in accordance with Articles 85, 86 and 86b of the Civil Code.

Article 12. Bodies of the Foundation


12.1. The Foundation is established for an indefinite duration. The Foundation may only be terminated on the grounds contemplated by law (Article 88 Civil Code).


12.2. The Board of Trustees may apply to the Supervisory Authority to amend the Deed in accordance with Articles 85, 86 and 86b of the Civil Code.


12.3. Residual assets, if any, shall vest with the Biel/Bienne township (Einwohnergemeinde Biel/Bienne) and be applied to cultural purposes which are as close as possible to the corporate purpose of the Foundation. Assets may not devolve back to the other Founders of their successors.


12.4. The last Board of Trustees shall be responsible for the liquidation of the Foundation.


12.5. The termination and dissolution of the Foundation is subject to the consent of the Supervisory Authority.



Article 13. Final Provisions


          13.1. The present Articles were approved by the Board of Trustees and submitted

                   to the Supervisory Authority on 30 May 2008.


          13.2. They were signed in 6 copies.



Biel, 30 May 2008

On behalf of the Board of Trustees


The Chairman   

Stéphane de Montmollin   

The Secretary
Pierre Edouard Hefti

frdeenprint

Die Stiftung / Statuten /


    


I. Einleitende Feststellungen

1.  Mit öffentlich beurkundeter Stiftungsurkunde vom 9. Mai 1974, Urschrift Nr. 5'282 des Notars Hans Flückiger in Biel/Bienne haben die Einwohnergemeinde Biel/Bienne, die Burgergemeinde Biel, die Sektion Biel-Seeland des Kantonalbernischen Handels- und Industrievereins und der Kunstverein Biel die Stiftung Schweizer Plastikausstellung Biel errichtet.


2.  Die Stiftungsurkunde blieb in der Folge unverändert in Kraft.


3.  In Anpassung an die veränderten Verhältnisse wird die Stiftungsurkunde auf Antrag des Stiftungsrats mit Datum der Verfügung der Umwandlungs- und Abänderungsbehörde revidiert und durch die nach-stehende Neufassung ersetzt. Dabei wird auch eine französische Fassung des Namens der Stiftung ein-ge-fügt.


II. Statuierende Bestimmungen


Artikel 1 -  Name und Sitz

1.1.  Unter dem Namen


Stiftung Schweizer Plastikausstellung Biel

(Fondation Expositions Suisses de Sculpture Bienne)


besteht eine selbständige Stiftung im Sinn von Artikel 80 ff. des Schweizerischen Zivilgesetzbuchs (ZGB).


1.2.  Die Stiftung hat ihren Sitz in Biel/Bienne.


1.3.  Die Sitzverlegung an einen anderen Ort in der Schweiz bedarf der Zustimmung der Aufsichtsbehörde.


Artikel 2 -  Zweck

2.1. Die Stiftung bezweckt die Durchführung in möglichst regelmässigen zeitlichen Abständen von Aus-stellungen von Kunstwerken, namentlich Plastiken, im öffentlichen Raum in Biel/Bienne. Die ausge-stell-ten Werke können von in der Schweiz tätigen Künstlern, Schweizer Künstlern mit Wohnsitz im Ausland oder aus-ländischen Künstlern mit Wohnsitz im Ausland geschaffen werden. Die Stiftung kann andere Künstler, deren Werk-en sie besondere Bedeutung zumisst zur Teil-nahme an den Ausstellungen ein-la-den.


Die Stiftung kann darüber hinaus das Kunstschaffen und kulturelle Arbeit fördern.


2.2. Gewinn und Kapital der Stiftung sind ausschliesslich dem vorstehend genannten Zweck gewidmet. Erwerbszwecke sind ausgeschlossen.

 

Artikel 3 -  Vermögen

3.1. Der Stiftung wurde anlässlich der Errichtung ein Stiftungskapital von CHF 9'000.00 in bar gewidmet.


3.2. Die Stiftung beschafft sich die für ihre Tätigkeit benötigten Mittel

  • durch wiederkehrende Beiträge der Stifter
  • durch Beiträge von Organisationen und Fonds zur Förderung der künstlerischen und kulturellen Arbeit
  • durch Sammlungen bei Gönnern


3.3. Das Stiftungsvermögen ist nach anerkannten kaufmännischen Grundsätzen zu verwalten. Soweit es sich nicht um Sachwerte handelt, ist das Vermögen sinngemäss nach der Verordnung über die berufliche Alters-, Hinterlassenen- und Invalidenvorsorge (BVV2) anzulegen.


3.4. Nebst anderen Mitteln der Stiftung kann das Stiftungskapital zur Erfüllung des Stiftungszwecks ver-wendet werden.


Artikel 4 -  Organe der Stiftung

Organe der Stiftung sind:

  • der Stiftungsrat
  • die Revisionsstelle, falls auf eine solche nicht verzichtet werden darf


Artikel 5 -  Stiftungsrat und Zusammensetzung

5.1.  Die Verwaltung der Stiftung obliegt dem Stiftungsrat, der aus mindestens 6 (sechs) und höchstens 10 (zehn) Mitgliedern, vorwiegend künstlerisch und kulturell tätigen oder interessierten Persönlichkeiten, besteht.


5.2.  Der Stiftungsrat ist grundsätzlich ehrenamtlich tätig. Er entscheidet über die Ausrichtung von Ent-schädigungen an Mitglieder oder Personen, an die ausserordentliche arbeitsintensive Aufgaben über-tragen werden.


5.3.  Der Stiftungsrat konstituiert sich selbst. Er ernennt einen Präsidenten, einen Rechnungsführer und einen Sekretär. Der Sekretär braucht nicht Mitglied des Stiftungsrats zu sein.


5.4.  Der Präsident, der Vizepräsident, der Rechnungsführer und der Sekretär führen jeweils Kollektiv-un-ter-schrift zu zweien. Mindestens zwei kollektiv zeichnungsberechtigte Mitglieder des Stiftungsrats müssen Wohnsitz in der Schweiz haben.


Artikel 6 -  Konstituierung und Ergänzung

6.1. Der Stiftungsrat wird wie folgt bestellt:


a) Es ernennen:

  • der Kanton Bern  1 Mitglied
  • die Einwohnergemeinde Biel/Bienne  3 Mitglieder
  • die Burgergemeinde Biel  1 Mitglied
  • der Kunstverein Biel  1 Mitglied


b) Die auf diese Weise ernannten Stiftungsratsmitglieder können an der konstituierenden Sitzung des Stiftungsrats für die gleiche Amtszeit höchstens 4 (vier) weitere Mitglieder ihrer Wahl bezeichnen. Die Wahl erfolgt durch den Stiftungsrat mit der absoluten Mehrheit der gemäss Buchstabe a. hievor ernannten anwesenden Mitglieder.


6.2. Die Amtsdauer der Stiftungsratsmitglieder beträgt 5 (fünf) Jahre. Wiederwahl ist möglich.


6.3. Entsteht während der Amtsdauer eine Vakanz, wird durch die Ernennungs- bzw. die Wahlinstanz ge-mäss Buchstabe a. resp. b. hievor ein Nachfolger bezeichnet. Das Ersatzmitglied vollendet die Amts-periode seines Vorgängers.


6.4. Die Abberufung eines Stiftungsratsmitglieds aus dem Stiftungsrat aus wichtigen Gründen ist jederzeit möglich. Ein wichtiger Grund ist insbesondere dann gegeben, wenn das betreffende Mitglied die ihm obliegenden Verpflichtungen gegenüber der Stiftung verletzt oder zur ordnungsgemässen Ausübung seines Amtes nicht mehr in der Lage ist. Der Stiftungsrat beschliesst mit Mehrheit von zwei Dritteln aller Stimmen über die Abberufung von Stiftungsratsmitgliedern.


6.5. Die personelle Zusammensetzung des Stiftungsrats und die Zeichnungsberechtigten sowie allfällige Änderungen sind dem Handelsregisteramt und der Aufsichtsbehörde umgehend zu melden.


Artikel 7 -  Kompetenzen des Stiftungsrats

7.1.  Dem Stiftungsrat obliegt die Leitung der Stiftung, namentlich in künstlerischer, finanzieller und betrieb-licher Hinsicht, und die Vertretung nach aussen. Ihm stehen alle Befugnisse zu, die in dieser Stiftungs-urkunde und den Reglementen der Stiftung nicht ausdrücklich einem anderen Organ übertragen sind.


7.2.  Der Stiftungsrat kann in einem Reglement Bestimmungen erlassen über die Einzelheiten der Organi-sation, der Geschäftsführung und der Tätigkeit der Stiftung, namentlich auch Richtlinien für einzelne Veranstaltungen.


7.3.  Der Stiftungsrat hat folgende unentziehbare Aufgaben:


a) die Ernennung von Stiftungsratsmitgliedern nach Massgabe der Statuten

b) die Konstituierung des Stiftungsrats und die Regelung der Zeichnungsberechtigung

c) die Wahl der Revisionsstelle, sofern erforderlich

d) die Abnahme der Jahresrechnung und des Jahresberichts


7.4.  Der Stiftungsrat ist berechtigt, einzelne seiner Befugnisse an eines oder mehrere seiner Mitglieder, an durch den Stiftungsrat eingesetzte Kommissionen oder an Dritte zu übertragen und für deren Tätigkeit und Berichterstattung die nötigen Reglemente und Richtlinien zu erlassen.


7.5.  Der Stiftungsrat kann einen Geschäftsführer bezeichnen, der nicht Mitglied des Stiftungsrats sein muss.


7.6.  Das Geschäftsjahr entspricht dem Kalenderjahr. Der Stiftungsrat legt der Aufsichtsbehörde jährlich innert sechs Monaten nach dem Schluss des Ge-schäftsjahrs seinen Tätigkeitsbericht, die Jahres-rech-nung und gegebenenfalls den Bericht der Revi-sions-stelle vor.


Artikel 8 -  Beschlussfassung

8.1.  Der Stiftungsrat trifft sich so oft es die Geschäfte erfordern, jedoch mindestens einmal jährlich. Die Einberufung zu den Sitzungen des Stiftungsrats erfolgt grundsätzlich 30 Tage vor dem Sitzungstermin.


8.2.  Der Stiftungsrat ist beschlussfähig, wenn die Mehrheit seiner Mitglieder anwesend ist. Er entscheidet mit einfachem Mehr, sofern in den Statuten oder in einem Reglement nicht eine qualifizierte Mehrheit vorgesehen ist. Bei Stimmengleichheit entscheidet der Präsident mit Stichentscheid.


8.3.  Beschlüsse können auch auf dem Zirkulationsweg gefasst werden, sofern kein Mitglied die mündliche Beratung verlangt. Zirkularbeschlüsse kommen zustande, wenn die Mehrheit aller Stiftungsrats-mit-glieder dem Antrag zustimmt.


8.4.  Der Stiftungsrat führt über seine Verhandlungen und Beschlüsse ein Protokoll.


Artikel 9 -  Reglemente

Der Stiftungsrat kann weitere Reglemente erlassen. Die Reglemente können vom Stiftungsrat im Rahmen der Zweckbestimmungen geändert werden. Reglemente und deren Änderungen sind der Aufsichtsbehörde zur Genehmigung einzureichen.


Artikel 10 -  Revisionsstelle

10.1. Der Stiftungsrat bezeichnet eine Revisionsstelle (Artikel 83b ZGB), und zwar:

  • einen zugelassenen Revisionsexperten oder ein staatlich beaufsichtigtes Revisionsunternehmen nach den Vorschriften des Revisions-auf-sichts-ge-setzes, sofern die Stiftung zur ordentlichen Revision verpflichtet ist
  • einen zugelassenen Revisor nach den Vorschriften des Revisionsaufsichtsgesetzes, sofern die Stiftung zu einer eingeschränkten Revision verpflichtet ist


Ist die Stiftung zu einer eingeschränkten Revision verpflichtet, kann die Aufsichtsbehörde eine or-dent-liche Revision verlangen, wenn dies für die zuverlässige Beurteilung der Vermögens- und Er-trags-lage der Stiftung notwendig ist.


10.2. Als Revisionsstelle können natürliche oder juristische Personen oder Personengesellschaften gewählt werden. Die Revisionsstelle muss ihren Wohnsitz, ihren Sitz oder eine eingetragene Zweig-nie-der-lassung in der Schweiz haben. Die Wahl der Revisionsstelle sowie allfällige Änderungen sind dem Handelsregisteramt und der Aufsichtsbehörde umgehend zu melden.


10.3. Die Revisionsstelle prüft jährlich die Rechnungsführung und die Vermögenslage. Sie prüft die Einhaltung der Bestimmungen der Stiftungsurkunde und der Reglemente. Sie prüft insbesondere auch, ob das Vermögen dem Zweck entsprechend verwendet worden ist. Über das Prüfungsergebnis verfasst die Revisionsstelle einen Bericht zuhanden des Stiftungsrats. Die Revisionsstelle übermittelt der Aufsichtsbehörde eine Kopie des Revisionsberichts sowie aller wich-tigen Mitteilungen an die Stiftung (Art. 83c ZGB).


10.4. Die Stiftung kann auf die Durchführung einer eingeschränkten Revision und die Ernennung einer Revisionsstelle verzichten, wenn die Stiftung aufgrund einer Verfügung der Aufsichtsbehörde von der Revisionspflicht befreit worden ist. Eine solche Befreiung ist zulässig wenn während zwei aufeinander folgenden Geschäftsjahren die Bilanzsumme kleiner als CHF 200'000.00 ist, die Stiftung nicht öffent-lich zu Spenden oder sonstigen Zuwendungen aufruft und die Revision nicht für eine zuverlässige Be-ur-teilung der Vermögens- und Ertragslage der Stiftung notwendig ist. Diese Voraussetzungen müssen kumulativ erfüllt sein.


Ist die Stiftungen von der Revisionspflicht befreit, kann sie freiwillig eine Revision durchführen.


Artikel 11 -  Änderung der Stiftungsurkunde

Der Stiftungsrat kann bei der Aufsichtsbehörde eine Änderung der Stiftungsurkunde im Sinn von Artikel 85, 86 und 86b ZGB beantragen.


Artikel 12 -  Aufhebung der Stiftung

12.1. Die Dauer der Stiftung ist unbegrenzt. Eine Aufhebung der Stiftung darf nur aus den im Gesetz vorgesehenen Gründen (Artikel 88 ZGB) erfolgen.


12.2. Der Stiftungsrat kann mit Zustimmung sämtlicher Stifter bei der Aufsichtsbehörde die Aufhebung der Stiftung beantragen.


12.3. Ein noch vorhandenes Vermögen fällt an die Einwohnergemeinde Biel/Bienne und muss für die Er-füllung kultureller, dem Stiftungszweck möglichst ähnlicher Aufgaben verwendet werden. Ein Rück-fall von Stiftungsvermögen an die übrigen Stifter oder deren Rechtsnachfolger ist ausgeschlossen.


12.4. Die Liquidation der Stiftung wird durch den letzten Stiftungsrat durchgeführt.


12.5. Die Zustimmung der Aufsichtsbehörde zur Aufhebung und Liquidation der Stiftung bleibt vorbehalten.


Artikel 13 -  Schlussbestimmungen

13.1. Die vorliegenden Statuten wurden am 30. Mai 2008 durch den Stiftungsrat zuhanden der Auf-sichts-be-hörde genehmigt.


13.2. Sie werden in sechs Exemplaren unterzeichnet.

Biel, den 30. Mai 2008

Namens des Stiftungsrats


Der Präsident:   

Stéphane de Montmollin   

Der Sekretär:
Pierre Edouard Hefti